Germany National Team

Germany National Football Team


Germany National Team's Info


Name: Germany National Football Team
City: -
Nationality: Germany

Germany National Team's first squad



Manuel Neuer German
Roman Weidenfeller German
Ron-Robert Zieler German


Antonio Rüdiger German - Sierra Leonean
Benedikt Höwedes German
Boateng German
Erik Durm German
Jonas Hector German
Matthias Ginter German
Shkodran Mustafi German


Andre Schurrle German
Christoph Kramer German
Karim Bellarabi Ghanaian - German - Moroccan
Lars Bender German
Sami Khedira German - Tunisian
Sebastian Rudy German
Toni Kroos German


Kevin Volland German
Lukas Podolski German - Polish
Marco Reus German
Mario Gotze German
Max Kruse German
Thomas Muller German

Team honours

4 FIFA World Cup (2013-14, 1989-90, 1973-74, 1953-54)

3 UEFA European Football Championship (1995-96, 1979-80, 1971-72)


Die Mannschaft (?The Team?) or the Germany national football team is credited for being one of the most powerful, successful and steady national teams in history. One of the most famous quotes by Gary Lineker asserted: ?Football is a simple game. Twenty-two men chase a ball for 90 minutes and at the end, the Germans always win.? Germany always displayed a style of play based on physical strength, discipline tactic and a great capacity to reach the penalty box with the maximum number of players possible. These three features led Germany to win three World Cups (1954, 1974 and 1990), three European Championships (1972, 1980 and 1996) and reach three European Championship finals (1976, 1992 and 2008) and four World Cup finals (1966, 1982, 1986 and 2002).

Nevertheless, in the early years Germany was divided into three teams: Saarland, East Germany and West Germany. It wasn?t up to 1990 when Germany reunified and subsequently the Germany national football team reunified as well.

? Saarland: The best success of this team was qualifying for the 1954 World Cup but didn?t qualify for the next round ending up between West Germany and Norway.

? East Germany: had more success than Saarland, winning the golden medal at the 1976 Olympics apart from beating West Germany in a couple of matches.

? West Germany: the most powerful and successful team in Germany.


West Germany?s success started in the 1954 World Cup held in Switzerland. The team was captained by Fritz Walter and upset the favourites: Hungary in the final (3-2). The success against the legendary team of Mighty Magyars, as Hungary used to be called, is called ?The Miracle of Bern? (Das Wunder von Bern). It was the first World Cup won by Germany.

Up to Euro 1972, West Germany demonstrated how solid and fearsome their teams were in spite of not winning any tournament: fourth in the 1958 World Cup; quarter-finals in the 1962 World Cup; runner-ups in the 1996 World Cup losing the final against England, the host, at Wembley Stadium in a controversial match and third place at the 1970 World Cup after being defeated in the semi-finals by Italy (4-3) at Estadio Azteca in Mexico. This match is called ?Game of the Century? as five goals were scored in extra time and it was also memorable due to Franz Beckenbauer who remained on the pitch with a dislocated shoulder, having his arm in a sling strapped to his body.

In 1972, West Germany led by Franz Beckenbauer won the Euro 1972, beating the Soviet Union in the final (3-0) and in 1974, West Germany became the host and the champions of the 1974 World Cup, defeating the Netherlands captained by Johan Cruyff (2-1).

West Germany?s competitiveness carried on through the years: runner-ups at Euro 1976, champions at Euro 1980 defeating Belgium 2-1, runner-ups at 1982 World Cup losing to Italy 1-3 in the final, runner-ups again in the 1986 World Cup under Franz Beckenbauer?s management, defeated by Diego Maradona?s Argentina (2-3) and semi-finalist in Euro 1988, the Netherlands revenged their loss in 1974 beating them 2-1.

However, West Germany reached the maximum glory again at the 1990 World Cup held in Italy. Beckenbauer led West Germany back to the glory, winning their third title against Argentina (1-0 with one goal scored by Andreas Brehme). Beckenbauer became the second person ever apart from Mario Zagallo to win the World Cup as both player and coach.

Later, reunified Germany won their first major title at Euro 1996, winning their third European trophy on penalty kicks against England. Since then, Germany has had great performances at Euros and World Cups but hasn?t won any major yet. Germany keeps being a difficult team to face up but with lack of finalization; at the 1998 World Cup, Germany was upset by Croatia, with Oliver Khan and Michael Ballack as the main referents, Germany went out in the first round in the Euro 2000 and reached the 2002 World Cup final but lost against Brazil 2-0. Later, at the Euro 2004 Germany was again exited in the first round; in their World Cup as host Die Mannschaft performed very well but were defeated by Italy. Nontheless, Germany ended up in the third place after defeating Portugal 3-1.

New era came with Joachim Lw who has been displaying a more attractive style of play with players such as Mesut zil, Thomas Mller and Tony Kroos. In the Euro 2008, Germany lost the final against Spain thanks to a goal from the Spanish striker Fernando Torres. In the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, Spain was again a nightmare for Germany, winning 1-0. Finally, at the Euro 2012, this time was Italy which stopped Germany from reaching the final, Italy won 2-1 over Germany (Balotelly scored two goals).